3 Questions to Ask When Facing a Trial

Certainly there is not a magic number of questions you can ask yourself when facing a trial. Each trial is unique. Charles Stanley challenged me in a sermon I heard to ask myself what God is teaching me when I go through a difficult time. The second question is derived from my personal conviction after reading Tim Keller’s Counterfeit Gods. The third was formulated after I realized my propensity to want to lie down and quit every time a trial came.

  1. What is God teaching me?
  2. Is there an idol in my life that God is trying to strip me of?
  3. Am I choosing to wallow in self-pity or am I looking to God for strength and wisdom?

Many of us have heard Psalm 34:18 quoted to us when we’re facing difficulty. Psalm 34:18 reads, “The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” Follow Psalm 34:18 with Isaiah 55:6 which states, “Seek the Lord while you can find him. Call on him now while he is near.” This logic would tell us in our brokenness to seek the Lord fervently while He is close. Use this time to glean spiritual lessons that will take you through many spiritual deserts. You may not be able to “consider it pure joy (James 1:2)” just yet (or maybe you won’t ever be able to claim the joy of a trial) but be certain that the Lord is near and willing to be your comfort and teach you if you seek Him.

Leave a Reply

