Watch My Feet

At one point in my life I felt fairly confident in being trained in evangelism and discipleship. I took classes, read books, and went on missions’ trips. But it’s been years since I’ve been enrolled in these classes and I’ve grown rusty. Sharing my faith with words has become a bit of a challenge (one that I am convicted I must change). Yet, I realized that evangelism and discipleship may not always look so formal. It might simply be how others watch how I live my life.

We often under-estimate the power of the example we set for others. I know I frequently live my life without regard to how I influence others. But when we live healthy lives and strive to follow after the Lord we make an impact. People notice. I came to this conclusion a few weeks ago when I had a few different people approach me independently and reveal that my attempts to live a healthier life have influenced them. While proud that they were taking some great steps, I was also convicted that I need to be careful to always live out my faith.

But it’s more than habits. Our lives are examined when we enter into difficult seasons of our lives too. People watch how we handle the challenges that are placed in our lives. Allow others to observe you seeking after God as you work through whatever has been grieving your heart. Transparency can be key to showing people your faith and making disciples without ever formally doing so. Be honest about your questions and struggles. Continue to glorify God in your pains and challenges. Don’t be afraid to show others the difficult side of faith. They may find this refreshing. Personally, when I need counsel I don’t want to talk to the person who always has it together. I want to talk to the person who has been through hard times and was able to come out the other side. God can use our honest cries in our lives but also in the lives of those around us. Never forget that the impact of our lives on others is astounding. Don’t under-estimate your walk. People are watching your feet.

Matthew 28: 19-20 “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

1 Corinthians 11:1 “Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ.”

Leave a Reply

