Hide and Seek

Sometimes it feels as if we’re playing hide and seek with God. We wait for Him to speak and show us where to go next. But, how do you know what His will is for your life? Do you ever wonder if you’re making the right choices for your life? What if you make the ‘wrong’ choice and end up somewhere God didn’t intend for you to be? Can you really walk out of God’s will if you’re seeking after him? These are questions I’ve been asking myself over the last year or so. Overwhelmed by the amount of transition and change on the horizon, I froze dead in my tracks. I figured I should stop and stay put until I could hear God speak. Then, I realized something profound. Free will. God has given us freedom in the spirit.  He did not give us a spirit of fear and timidity (2 Tim. 1:7). If we have a desire and we have examined our reasons for making a decision – a move, a job, a relationship, a you–fill-in-the-blank – and they are not contrary to God’s Word there is freedom in pursuing these things.

“What if I make a wrong choice,” you ask. Do you not think God is big enough to meet you there? The question then becomes one of faith and trust in God to rule over ALL things. This realization came as one of my mentors challenged me to read Psalm 139 daily as I sought God’s will for my life. Psalm 139:5-12 stuck with me. There is nowhere I can go that God is not already there. If I truly seek God in my life, he will be with me always (Matt. 28:20) and never leave me or forsake me (Deut. 31:6). What do I have to fear?  He goes before and behind me with his hand of blessing on my head (Psalm 139:5)! ­

Psalm 139: 5-12 “You go before me and follow me. You place your hand of blessing on my head. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too great for me to understand! I can never escape from your Spirit! I can never get away from your presence! If I go up to heaven, you are there; if I go down to the grave, you are there. If I ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell by the farthest oceans, even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me. I could ask the darkness to hide me and the light around me to become night – but even in darkness I cannot hide from you. To you the night shines as bright as day. Darkness and light are the same to you.”

My challenge to you (and me) is to not fear our tomorrows. He is already there! So whether you move, take a new job, start or end a relationship or whatever is on the forefront of your mind – God is there. He is greater than our decisions. He is sovereign. He has never left his throne. Take comfort in that. And in the right time, he will guide you. Keep your eyes and ears open but don’t be afraid to move forward.

Isaiah 30:21Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, ‘This is the way; walk in it.’”

Leave a Reply

