Uniquely You

We all have a calling. A gift. It’s different for each of us. We all have a unique role to play. I like working with senior citizens. It’s my way to give back – to say thank you for contributing to my life, community, country, etc. I love listening to their stories – gleaning from their mistakes and treasuring their wisdom. But not all would find my job exciting – yet it fits me because of how God has placed a unique passion in my life for the widows, lonely, and aged.

I have a friend who yearns to help Islamic women regain their freedom and independence. Another friend wants to open a home for pregnant teen moms and mentor them. A former coworker serves in an underprivileged neighborhood because he is passionate that these children should have some sort of father figure in their lives. An old classmate wanted to move to Hollywood to share the Gospel with the entertainment industry. I’m proud of my friends and excited by their passion.

All of these dreams help me see how we each have a role to play in this world. We are all uniquely gifted and have different passions. (Praise God because there is so much need in our world!) It’s amazing to think that if we were all faithful to minister in the ways we have been called (examine your passions, gifts, talents and opportunities to help you discern where God may be leading you), the entire world might know the name of Jesus Christ! That is a thought that is astounding to me. Embrace your distinct gifting and talents. We are not all the same (again, praise God because that would be boring!) and should not compare ourselves against one another. Play a part in the grand scheme. Get in the game and be YOU – the unique you.

1 Corinthians 12:12-27  Just as a body, though one, has many parts, but all its many parts form one body, so it is with Christ. For we were all baptized by one Spirit so as to form one body—whether Jews or Gentiles, slave or free—and we were all given the one Spirit to drink. Even so the body is not made up of one part but of many.

Now if the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason stop being part of the body.  And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason stop being part of the body. If the whole body were an eye, where would the sense of hearing be? If the whole body were an ear, where would the sense of smell be?  But in fact God has placed the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be. If they were all one part, where would the body be? As it is, there are many parts, but one body.

The eye cannot say to the hand, “I don’t need you!” And the head cannot say to the feet, “I don’t need you!” On the contrary, those parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable, and the parts that we think are less honorable we treat with special honor. And the parts that are unpresentable are treated with special modesty, while our presentable parts need no special treatment. But God has put the body together, giving greater honor to the parts that lacked it, so that there should be no division in the body, but that its parts should have equal concern for each other. If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it. Now you are the body of Christ, and each of you is a part of it.

 


 

Leave a comment