A Brand New Day

My new bible study is just starting up. We’re studying Beth Moore’s “When Godly People Do Ungodly Things.” I’m excited. But excitement aside – the opening session provided me with some fresh perspective on how God redeems our past and uses these points of complete brokenness and utter despair to turn us to him (you know if you’ve been there). The awe-inspiring thing is God uses this to bring us to a new day – complete surrender and to allow us the joy of walking in His will. He loves us too much to remain uninvolved in our lives. The all-powerful Creator could have made the world and washed his hands of it – but He didn’t. He chose to love us. Wow. Because He loves us, He can redeem our past, brokenness, and hurts. This continues to amaze me and leave me utterly grateful.

I’m sure over the next few weeks I will periodically be writing about what God is revealing to me. But until then, I felt the need to share that a new day is coming. Someone out there needed to hear that today. Someone needs to know God is capable and WILLING to sweep your situation upside down in order to bring you to a place of healing and joy. And someone out there needs Psalm 30:5.

Psalm 30:5 For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime! Weeping may last through the night, but joy comes with the morning.

I do not profess to have abundant wisdom or incredible insight into the future but I can pretty much guarantee one thing. Change. God wants our attention and often will obtain it by putting change in our lives – good and bad. Some change will be due to choices we make. Some will be because of choices others make and some change will be due to circumstances beyond our control. But know that God will provide a new day as you find strength and solace in Him and Him alone. Your situation may not change. You may not even be able to erase the things you did or done to you – but your heart can be healed. You can forgive and be forgiven. Peace is available to you. It’s a new day.

And because I love music, I’m leaving you with this song by Joshua Radin. (Copyright 2010 Warner Music Group / mom + pop music)

 

Leave a comment