In the Stillness

The busyness of life causes so much noise it can be difficult to hear the Lord. Sometimes we ache to hear his voice, sit in his comforting presence, or long to draw close to him. Frantically we search for him. But sometimes, He calls us to sit and let him find us.

Quiet my child. I am with you. I will comfort you. Be still.

Being still is foreign. It’s awkward. It’s uncomfortable. We are faced with ourselves – our doubts, fears, sins, our past, our futures and our questions.  Our pain can seem magnified in our stillness. But God still calls to us into the stillness.

Listen, I will speak. I will call to you. Trust me. (He whispers.)

Psalm 46:10 Be still and know I am God.

Trust me. I am in control.

1 Kings 19:12 And after the earthquake there was a fire, but the LORD was not in the fire. And after the fire there was the sound of a gentle whisper.

Listen. I will not always speak loudly to capture your attention. Stay alert. I am as gentle as a breeze.

Do not be afraid of times of stillness. When you seek for wisdom and discernment – do not grow weary in waiting. There is a purpose in silence. Be alert to when He does speak. He will – in his perfect time.

Image source

Leave a Reply

